JUN 19th 2014

Mini winners old and new in action at FoS

The Mini’s victory in the 1964 Monte Carlo is written permanently into motorsport lore. The 50th anniversary of that unforgettable win will be celebrated this year at FoS when Paddy Hopkirk takes a classic works rally Mini up the hill… but there are more recent Mini victories that will also be marked on the 1.16-mile hillclimb.

Mini has won the car class of the Dakar rally every year since its first entry in 2012; at the end of 2014’s 15-day excursion, Countrymans took all three podium positions with a strong 1-2-3 finish. No fewer than 11 Minis were entered, and one or the other won 11 of the 13 individual stages. You get the idea… Minis dominate the Dakar rally right now.

The winning 2014 car is coming to FoS, and will be taken up the hill by its driver Nani Roma, who has a previous Dakar win under his belt… albeit with a very different vehicle. In 2004, he won the motorcycle class on a KTM. There’s no doubting the grit and determination needed to rack up a record like that…

Meanwhile, we don’t need any more of an excuse to run this fantastic airborne shot!

Share this