NOV 27th 2014

1981 Spa front row confirmed for 73MM


The two cars that started from the front row of the 1981 Spa 24-hour race are confirmed to race in the Gerry Marshall Trophy at the 73rd Members’ Meeting. The then-pole sitting Chevrolet Camaro Z28, finished in its vibrant Bastos livery, will race for the first time in over 30 years. At Spa it was driven by Reine Wisell, Claude Bourgoignie and John Cooper.

The car that started the Spa race alongside the Camaro is an ex-TWR Mazda RX-7, which went on the win the 24-hour. A rival RX-7 will be driven at 73MM by former BTCC racer Patrick Watts and the owner Ian Cowley. The distinctive – and loud – rotary engine will be a stark contrast to the Camaro’s V8, assuming the latter is audible over the Mazda!

Other cars are also being confirmed for the Gerry Marshall race, which is for Group 1 touring cars primarily of the 1970s, but open to cars up to 1982. BTCC race winner Rob Austin will race a 3.0-litre Ford Capri with his father Richard, while a Mini raced by Jon Mowatt in 1980 will also take part.

Goodwood will also see its first Jagermeister livery, which adorns a Ford Escort Mk2 RS2000 owned by Mike Bell (who raced his Gilbern 1800 GT at Revival). The race will also feature a 1977-spec BMW 530i with UFO Jeans livery and a Rover 3500 SDi in  Sanyo colours.

Tickets are available to GRRC members, with a limited number also available to non-members – and you can buy them here.


Share this

Sign up for 76th Members' Meeting 2018 ticket alert!