JAN 16th 2015

BTCC legends Harvey and Gravett join 73rd Members' Meeting line‑up


Former British Touring Car champions Robb Gravett and Tim Harvey, plus a number of other motor racing stars, are the latest drivers to sign up for the 73rd Members’ Meeting.

Gravett and Harvey will both take part in the Gerry Marshall Trophy for Group 1 saloons, competing against other notable racers including Anthony Reid, Darren Turner and Stuart Graham.

Robb-Gravett Gravett, (pic left) who won the 1990 title, will climb behind the wheel of a 1974 Broadspeed Dolomite, sharing with David Swig in the race that pays tribute to tin-top cult hero Gerry Marshall.

Harvey, whose BTCC crown came in 1992, and makes his Members’ Meeting debut, will race an ex-works Triumph Dolomite Sprint (pictured above) that was the first version of the car to be converted for racing in 1973, and still bears the British Leyland livery, sharing with owner Anthony Robinson.

A third Dolomite, Timothy Morley’s Triplex-liveried example, will be raced by Methuen House Captain Anthony Reid – the BTCC championship runner-up in 1998 and 2000. Reid and Morley finished 10th in the Gerry Marshall Trophy last year.

Stuart Graham, the only man to win both the two and four-wheeled versions of the Tourist Trophy post-war, returns with Nigel Garrett in a Brut 33 Faberge-liveried Chevrolet Camaro Z28, determined to do better than the podium finish the duo earned in 2014.

Aston Martin factory GT driver Darren Turner, who has a pair of Le Mans 24 Hours class victories to his name, as well as wins in the BTCC and several other international GT racing series, will race David Clark’s Camaro, which started the 1981 Spa 24 Hours from pole position, and will also race his own Turner Mk1 in the Les Leston Cup for British sports cars of the 1960s.

The Members’ Meeting revives the tradition of club racing at Goodwood in the 1950s and ’60s, with an exclusive audience and all-areas access for all visitors to the event in the relaxed atmosphere of the iconic Goodwood Motor Circuit.

Share this

Sign up for 76th Members' Meeting 2018 ticket alert!