MAR 22nd 2015

Race Gallery: Gerry Marshall Trophy Part 2 – Group 1 Touring Cars

The big saloons of the Gerry Marshall Trophy took to the track once more for their main 45-minute race this afternoon. Despite some cars missing their pit window, the battle at the front was as intense and exciting as ever, with the plucky Mini of Nick Swift and Andrew Jordan yet again taking the fight to the big Chevrolet Camaros and Rover SD1s at the front. But despite the efforts of Swift and Jordan it would be another BTCC star, Matt Neal, in the Bastos Camaro who would prevail with team mate David Clarke. The pair had not seemed long for the race at the start as the Chevrolet car belched smoke from its side-exhausts for most of the race, but they overcame the drama to seal the victory by over two seconds from our own Chris Harris in the Rover SD1 he shared with Chris Ward.

Photographs: Jochen van Cauwenberg

Share this

Sign up for 76th Members' Meeting 2018 ticket alert!