Race Report: 2021 Moss Trophy | 78th Members’ Meeting

18th October 2021
Richard Heseltine

Nigel Greensall upheld Jaguar honour by hoisting the Moss Trophy for closed-cockpit GT cars. The veteran allrounder led from start to finish aboard his E-type, Mike Whittaker providing competition during the early running in his vivid pink-hued AC Cobra.


The lead duo was less than a second apart at half-distance of the 17-minute encounter, with the E-type of Oliver Bryant a further second in arrears. Behind them, the Jaguars of Gregor Fisken and young charger Jack Minshaw squabbled, with the latter getting past with five minutes left to run.

Greensall’s advantage over Whittaker by now stood at three seconds as Bryant kept a watching brief. Bryant, already a winner that day, challenged mightily as they came upon backmarkers, but the Cobra’s extra horsepower showed in a straight line until the final lap. Bryant finally made it past on the Lavant Straight with seconds to spare thanks to a brilliant undercut move. Greensall won by 5.165 seconds from Bryant with Whittaker less than 0.2 seconds behind him in third.

  • Race Report

  • 78MM

  • Members Meeting

  • Moss Trophy

  • race-14-sf-edge-trophy-2-race-report-78mm-michal-pospisil-main-goodwood-18102021.jpg

    Members' Meeting

    Race Report: 2021 S.F. Edge Trophy Part 2 | 78th Members’ Meeting

  • race-1-gerry-marshall-trophy-heat-1-race-report-pete-summers-main-goodwood-16102021.jpg

    Members' Meeting

    Race Report: 2021 Gerry Marshall Trophy Heat 1 | 78th Members’ Meeting

  • race-2-gerry-marshall-trophy-heat-2-race-report-james-lynch-main-goodwood-16102021.jpg

    Members' Meeting

    Race Report: 2021 Gerry Marshall Trophy Heat 2 | 78th Members’ Meeting