79th Members Meeting Prizegiving results

11th April 2022
Ethan Jupp

As the Goodwood Motor Circuit fell silent following the conclusion of racing at the 79th Members’ Meeting presented by Audrain Motorsport, the team, competitors, entrant and spectators alike turned their attention to prizegiving, as the Duke of Richmond addressed and gave thanks to all present.


As ever the great and the good of the Meeting were celebrated in the Great Hall, with Governors and partners present to watch on. 

“I’d like to thank everyone involved in the weekend – both those behind the scenes and those at the forefront – for putting on another excellent race meeting,” the Duke said in his introduction.

“It was another fitting celebration of the spirit of Goodwood.”

First of all, it was the time for race winners and podium finishers, as well as governor-selected highlights of the meeting, to take a bow. After that came the house competition. In the overall contest between the four houses over the course of the weekend, only one could emerge on top, with the racing as well as other activities across the Meeting adding to the points tally; Besides the heroic exploits of the drivers, Members and Fellows in attendance were able to contribute by axe-throwing, ferret racing (the two not in close proximity) and even a tug of war. The prize? The Members’ Meeting House Shield.


Andy Priaulx stood in for Nicolas Minassian this year as house captain for Aubigny, alongside Darnley captain Jochen Mass, Methuen captain Anthony Reid and Torbolton captain Emanuele Pirro. It was the Torbolton clan that took the win and subsequently the House Shield, much to five-time Le Mans winner Pirro’s delight. Here are the full results:


Gerry Marshall Trophy, under the Governorship of Frederic Wakeman

3rd: John Young and Gordon Shedden in a Chevrolet Camaro 

2nd: Fred Shepherd and Andy Priaulx in a Ford Mustang Boss 302

1st: Jack Tetley and Alex Buncombe in a Chevrolet Camaro


Robert Brooks Trophy, under the Governorship of Bill Shepherd

3rd: Ian Dalglish in a Lotus 17

2nd: James Bellinger in a Lola Mk1

1st: Andrew Kirkaldy in a Lotus Eleven


Weslake Cup, under the Governorship of Grant Reid

3rd: Mark Burnett in the Fletcher Ogle GT

2nd: Mike Haigh in the Lenham GT

1st: Charles Rainford in the Lenham GT


Hailwood Trophy, under the Governorship of Martin Overington 

3rdAndy Hornby in the RPS Triumph Trident

2nd: Levi Day in the Yamaha TZ350G (Ron Willis collecting on behalf of Levi)

1st: Dan Jackson in the Harris Yamaha


The Sheene Trophy for the first four-stroke bike across the line, under the Governorship of John Saunders

1st RPS Andy Hornby in the Triumph Trident


Sopwith Cup, under the Governorship of William Paul

3rdRowan Atkinson in the Jaguar Mk 7

2nd: Charles Rainford in the Nash Metropolitan

1st: James Colburn in the Standard Vanguard Six


Derek Bell Cup, under the Governorship of Nicholas Sleep

3rd: Peter Thompson in the Brabham BT21A

2nd: Jeremy Timms in the Chevron B15

1st: Andrew Hibberd in the Brabham BT18


Graham Hill Trophy, under the Governorship of James Thorpe

3rdMike Whitaker and Guy Smith in the TVR Griffith 

2nd: Marino Franchitti and Nicky Pastorelli in the Ferrari 250 GTO/64

1st: Phil Keen and Jon Minshaw in the Jaguar E Type


Surtees Trophy, under the Governorship of Nick Jarvis

3rd: Mark Shaw in the McLaren M1A

2nd: Rob Hall in the McLaren M1A

1st: Oliver Bryant in the Lola T70 Spyder


A.F.P. Fane Trophy, under the Governorship of Richard Wilson 

3rd: Tom Waterfield – Frazer Nash Super Sports

2nd: Martin Stretton in the Frazer Nash Monoposto

1st: Patrick Blakeney-Edwards in the Frazer Nash Monoposto


Varzi Trophy

3rd: Christopher Mann in the Alfa Romeo 8C Monza

2nd: Ross Keeling in the Delahaye 135

1st: Patrick Blakeney-Edwards in the Alfa Romeo 8C Monza


Peter Collins Trophy, under the Governorship of Craig Davies

3rd: Gary Pearson in a Jaguar D-Type

2ndDavid Hart in a Maserati 300S

1st: James Thorpe in the Lister-Jaguar Flat Iron


Gerry Marshall Sprint, under the Governorship of Nikolaus Ditting

3rd: Fred Shepherd in his Ford Mustang Boss 302

2nd: Craig Davis in his Ford Mustang Boss 302

1st: Jack Tetley in the Chevrolet Camaro


The Porsche 956 & 962 Saturday, under the Governorship of Gregor Fisken 

Shaun Lynn with his wonderful pair of Porsche 956s


The Porsche 956 & 962 Sunday, under the Governorship of Theo Paphitis

Henry Pearman, who provided 9 of the stunning Group C machines that we saw on track this weekend.


Formula 1 – the V10-era, under the Governorship of William Medcalf

Steve Griffiths and his Jordan 195, which ran here for the first time this weekend since it competed in Formula 1 in 1995.


Drift – Weekend Winner, under the Governorship of Mike Whitaker

Haydn Cruickshank in his Toyota Chaser


The Fastest Lap of the Meeting

The prize for fastest lap of the meeting is sponsored by our official timing partners, IWC Schaffhausen and presented by Niall McFadden.

1st: Olly Bryant in his Lola T70 Spyder, who set a lap-time of 1 minute 18.4 seconds.


Photography by Phil Haye

  • 79MM

  • Prize-giving

  • Members Meeting

  • 77mm-prize-giving-gallery-goodwood-11042019.jpg

    Members' Meeting

    77MM Prize Giving – celebrating another incredible Members' Meeting!

  • prize-giving-members-meeting-goodwood.jpg

    Members' Meeting

    80th Members' Meeting prizegiving

  • 79th-members-meeting-timetable-jordan-butters-main-16032201.jpg

    Members' Meeting

    Goodwood 79MM timetable