JAN 11th 2016

That Was The Week That Was: Anniversaries and Milestones From Motorsport’s Past

January 11

1923: US racing king Carroll Shelby is born. The Texan goes on to win Le Mans for Aston Martin in 1959, as well as anchor the British firm’s World Sportscar Championship-winning DBR1 at Goodwood later that year. He would also famously turn two iconic, British-built sportscars, the AC Cobra and Ford GT40, into world-beaters. He died in May 2012, aged 89.

January 12

1975: Jean-Pierre Jarier secures pole position for the first time in a Grand Prix. The Frenchman’s Shadow DN5 outqualifies the two Brabham BT44Bs of Carloses Pace and Reutemann in Argentina, but fails to start the race won by World Champion Emerson Fittipaldi’s McLaren M23. Forty years later, J-PJ stars at the 73rd Members’ Meeting when he’s reunited with the Cosworth DFV-powered Shadow for the event’s 1970s high-airbox F1 car demonstrations.

1998: The first British driver to win a round of the World Rally Championship, Roger Clark, dies, aged just 58. Clark, who had won the 1972 RAC Rally in the year before the WRC was inaugurated, contested 21 events between 1973 and 1995, famously winning the Lombard RAC in the Cossack Hairspray-liveried Ford Escort RS1800 in ’76.

January 13

1974: Kiwi hero Denny Hulme scores his eighth and final Grand Prix win, taking his McLaren M23 to victory in Argentina – from 10th on the grid. The Bear beats the Ferrari 312B3s of Niki Lauda and Clay Regazzoni.

January 14

1986: The founder of the Paris-Dakar Rally, Thierry Sabine, is killed in a helicopter crash during the event. Fellow Frenchmen René Metge and Dominique Lemoyne win the rally in the four-wheel-drive Porsche 959, although their victory celebrations are muted.

January 15

1978: Mario Andretti takes his seventh Grand Prix win – in Argentina. His Lotus 78 starts from pole position and wins easily from Niki Lauda’s Brabham. Other milestones that day include Emerson Fittipaldi’s 100th start and Ferrari hotshoe Gilles Villeneuve’s first fastest lap.

January 16

Happy 81st birthday to one of racing’s greatest all-rounders, Anthony Joseph Foyt Jr. Texan Foyt won the Indianapolis 500 four times, the Daytona 500 and Le Mans 24 Hours, as well as the Daytona 24 Hours and Sebring 12 Hours sportscar enduros.

1990: Former World Rally king Ari Vatanen secures his third Paris-Dakar Rally victory for Peugeot. The Finn becomes the first driver to take back-back wins in the gruelling African marathon, giving Peugeot’s 405 T16 a second success. In the motorcycle class, Italian Edi Orioli gives Cagiva and its Elefant 900 a maiden win.

January 17

1965: Dan Gurney proves unstoppable in NASCAR’s top-class Grand National race at the Californian Riverside road course. It’s local hero Gurney’s third straight win for Ford in the 500-mile stockcar race in what would be his only outing of the 55-race season.

1971: The first and, to date, only Englishman to lift the World Rally Championship drivers’ title, Richard Burns, is born. The Reading driver would win the National Rally title in 1992, the British Championship in 1993 and, eight years later, the WRC crown in the Prodrive Subaru Impreza. Since his death, from cancer in 2005, Goodwood has been a keen supporter of the Richard Burns Foundation charity set up in his name.

Share this