AUG 04th 2022

Adam Wilkins

Britain's first F1 constructors' champion

It took until the 12th year of Formula 1 racing for there to be a constructors’ championship alongside that for drivers, and it was Vanwall with the VW5 that claimed that historic title (known then as the manufacturers’ championship), winning six of the nine races it entered in the hands of Sir Stirling Moss and Tony Brooks – taking three wins each. Moss would have probably won the drivers’ championship too that year, if it weren’t for his unyielding sportsmanship that allowed Mike Hawthorn to claim the title.


Other Articles