Race ,Modern
JAN 08th 2024

Damien Smith

2024 Dakar Rally Part 1 | 4 talking points

Carlos Sainz Sr leads the way after the first two stages of the 46th running of the Dakar Rally, as the epic ‘raid’ takes place for a fifth time in the deserts of Saudi Arabia. The 61-year-old, who is chasing a fourth victory on the Dakar, didn’t get off to the best of starts in his Audi RS Q e-tron – but nevertheless did enough to head the Ultimate car class after the opening weekend, before the event heads into the third of its 12 stages on Monday.

Meanwhile, Mr Dakar himself – Stéphane Peterhansel – made a special piece of history with a great stage victory over a charging Sébastien Loeb on Sunday, as the big names inevitably experienced mixed fortunes on the toughest motor sport event of them all.


Other Articles