Richard-Burns-1992-Subaru-Legacy-Video-13122021.jpg Previous article

Video: Watch Richard Burns thrash a rally Legacy

Video: Vintage ROC action looks glorious

The Race of Champions has evolved a great deal from the original in 1988, held to commemorate the death of Henri Toivonen and to mark 10 years of the world championship for rally drivers. That original event, organised by Michèle Mouton, featured all eight champions from 1979 to 1988 driving cars ranging from the Audi Quattro S1 and BMW M3 to the then all-conquering Lancia Delta Integrale. The final of the round robin knockout-style tournament held at the Autodrome de Linas-Montlhéry near Paris was won by Juha Kankkunnen who beat Timo Salonen to be crowned the Champion of Champions and receive the Henri Toivonen Memorial Trophy.


Most popular from Historic