Goodwood Revival prize giving 2023

11th September 2023
Simon Ostler

As we reflected on what was one of the very best Goodwood Revival weekends we've ever had, the action on the Motor Circuit subsided and attention turned to the traditional Prize Giving ceremony, where the deeds of many of our great drivers and riders would be recognised.


With prizes to be awarded for the best drivers of the Revival, the fastest laps for both cars and motorcyles, and several other commendable individuals who helped to make the weekend as special as it was, Prize Giving is always an enjoyable moment of the weekend.


2023 Goodwood Revival results

09th September 2023


Settrington Cup

Aggregate winner: Luca Franchitti

Freddie March Spirit of Aviation presented by Bonhams|Cars

1. Richard Menage – 1936 Focke Wolf Stieglitz

2. Sebastien Mazzuchetti – 1939 Spartan Executive

3. The Navy Wings Heritage Flight – 1941 Fairey Swordfish

The Rob Wildeboer Cup

The Rob Wildeboer cup is a prize introduced in 2021, which honours a much-missed member of the team here at Goodwood. Rob worked in our aviation business for 35 years and was instrumental in establishing and curating the Freddie March Spirit of Aviation.

The Rob Wildeboer Cup is each year awarded to the best restoration of an aircraft in the Freddie March Spirit of Aviation, as chosen by his colleagues.

Winner: Tom Leaver – 1928 Travel Air 4000


Women in Motorsport Award for Fastest Lap

Winner: Angela Cragg, Norton Manx 30M – 1:34.791 in the Barry Sheene Memorial Trophy

Fastest lap of the meeting presented by BGC Partners

Winner: James Davison, McLaren M1B – 1:18.740 in the Whitsun Trophy

The Mick Hemmings Trophy for the Fastest Lap by a Motorcycle

In Honour of Mick Hemmings who was a star of our early motorcycle races, winning the Lennox Cup in both 1998 and 2000.

Winner: Michael Russell, Norton Manx 30M – 1:28.898 in the Barry Sheene Memorial Trophy

Rider of the Weekend presented by Motul

Winner: Glen English


Will Hoy Memorial Trophy

Each year at the Revival we remember one of this country’s most successful and popular saloon car stars, Will Hoy, by presenting a special prize in his honour to the driver who gives the greatest performance in a closed-cockpit car.

Winner: Andy Priaulx

The Simon Diffey Award for the Spirit of Goodwood presented by Goodwood Supporters’ Association

This award is presented to the person who best embodies the Spirit of Goodwood, epitomising the astonishing lengths to which some people go to bring the Revival to life. Named in honour of our dear friend Simon Diffey, the larger-than-life character we all so loved and very much miss.

Winner: Clive Chapman

Driver of the Meeting presented by Rolex

Winner: Andy Willis

Photography by Pete Summers.

  • Revival

  • Revival 2023

  • Prize Giving

  • revival-prize-giving-2022-main.jpg

    Goodwood Revival

    Goodwood Revival Prize Giving results 2022

  • revival_prize_giving_12092017_list_0647.jpg

    Goodwood Revival

    All the Goodwood Revival 2017 prizes

  • revival-prize-giving-results.jpg

    Goodwood Revival

    Goodwood Revival Prize-Giving results 2021