MAR 19th 2016

Gallery: Alan Mann Trophy for Mk1 Ford GT40s

As darkness fell over the first day of the 74th Members’ Meeting, a grid full of Mk1 Ford GT40s took to the track for the Alan Mann Trophy. It wasn’t an easy race for many, with no fewer than three of the cars that had a shout of outright victory failing to finish.

74th Members' Meeting live stream promo 74MM

First to fall by the wayside was the car of Rob Huff and Richard Meins, which retired just before the driver change window. Then, with under 17 minutes of the hour-long race remaining, two more cars retired. Mike and Andrew Jordan’s car was leading when a wheelbearing failure took it out of contention, leaving Steve Soper to lead the race (he having taken over the driving from David Cuff). Another challenger for the lead to retire close to the end of the race was the car of Graham Bryant.

Fifteen cars finished from 27 starting, but even with a depleted grid the sight and sound remained spectacular.

Photography by Pete Summers and Tom Shaxson

Share this

Sign up for 76th Members' Meeting 2018 ticket alert!