JUN 29th 2014

Gallery: Ferrari championship winning cars close‑up, 1964 versus 2007

Two world championship winning Ferraris, two Ferrari world championship drivers… all at Festival of Speed. Forty-three years separate the F1 world championship titles of John Surtees (1964) and Kimi Raikkonen (2007), but the thing that unites them is that both claimed their respective Formula One world championships at the wheel of Ferraris. Wouldn’t it be great to see Surtees’ 156 alongside Raikkonen’s F2007? Hold that thought…

Ferrari dominated the 1961 Formula One world championship with its 156 but, by 1962, it was outpaced. Brits then dominated F1, with Graham Hill winning the 1962 title in his BRM and Jim Clark claiming the 1963 championship at the wheel of his Lotus. By 1964, Ferrari had ditched the 156’s V6 and moved to a V8 – just like the BRM and Lotus. With John Surtees at the wheel of the new 158 (that’s 1.5 litres, eight cylinders), Ferrari was once again back on top. Former motorcycle champion John Surtees took the four-wheeled title.

When Kimi Raikkonen was signed up to Ferrari for the 2007 season, it had again been three years since the Italian team had won a driver’s championship (by Michael Schumacher in 2004). The F2007 was a significant update on 2006’s 284 F1 (and began Ferrari’s delightfully logical naming convention for its Formula One cars). Despite the fact that Kimi’s first test with Ferrari was in the 284 (the one F2007 built at that time was allocated to Felipe Massa for the duration of the first test session), he went on take his first Formula One championship.

So… wouldn’t it be great to see the cars together? You can later today, when John and Kimi will take to the hill together. While you wait, check out our fantastic photo gallery of both cars.

Photography: Richard Pardon

Share this