

The Fiat S76 or "Beast of Turin" is a Goodwood favourite and can usually be heard before it is seen at #FOS


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.


The inaugural BARC Members' Meeting took place at Goodwood on 13th Augurst 1949.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill




King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


The oldest existing rules for the game were drawn up for a match between the 2nd Duke and a neighbour


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.



G. Stubbs (1724–1806) created some of the animal portraiture masterpieces at Goodwood House, combining anatomical exactitude with expressive details









As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


The oldest existing rules for the game were drawn up for a match between the 2nd Duke and a neighbour






Each room has it's own button to ring for James (your butler) whenever and whatever you need him for.


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.





Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


The inaugural BARC Members' Meeting took place at Goodwood on 13th Augurst 1949.


For safety reasons F1 cars can no longer do official timed runs so instead perform stunning demonstrations!


The Revival takes you back to the original Goodwood era from 1948-1966.


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill










King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.



After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


Over the years, the Revival has honoured legends like Jim Clark, Jack Brabham, Dan Gurney and more.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.




Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.




The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.




Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998



Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


A temple-folly guarded by two sphinxes, the beautiful shell house was built in 1748 with collected shells and the floor made from horse teeth.


Ensure you take a little time out together to pause and take in the celebration of all the hard work you put in.







The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.




Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.



Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!








Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.




Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.
Goodwood House was one of the first places where cricket was played regularly, arguably giving Sussex claim to be the birthplace of club cricket. Certainly, matches have been played in front of the house since 1702, and the oldest existing rules for the game were drawn up for a match between the 2nd Duke and a neighbour.
goodwood estate
goodwood news
goodwood magazine

The cricket season is now in full swing and at the Goodwood Cricket Ground, balls like the one gracing our cover will already have been sent arcing gracefully towards the boundary. Goodwood was one of the first places to regularly host cricket matches, and indeed the oldest existing rules of the game were drawn up for a 1727 match between the 2nd Duke of Richmond and Mr Alan Brodrick.

Pictured above is a Stuart Surridge “Invincible”, almost a century old. Like most cricket bats, it consists of a cane handle spliced into a flat-fronted willow blade. Bats didn’t always look like this, however. Before the 18th century, they were often shaped like modern hockey sticks – a legacy, so one theory goes, of the game having originally been played using shepherds’ crooks. The bat, thought to be the oldest in existence, which is on display at The Oval, dates back to 1729, just two years after the aforementioned game between the 2nd Duke and Mr Brodrick – the first of the estate’s many noteworthy matches.
According to cricketing lore, a wicket originally consisted of two stumps and one bail and resembled a gate (hence the name, which derives from the word for a small door or gate). The middle stump and additional bail were only added following an extraordinary incident in 1775 when a player named Lumpy Stevens bowled three successive deliveries to an opposing batsman, John Small, which all passed between the two stumps without hitting them. Nowadays, according to Law 8 in The Laws of Cricket, a wicket should consist of three vertical poles, usually made of ash, each of which must be 28 inches tall, with two bails resting on top. Fittingly, when the umpires “call stumps” they are declaring that play is over for the day.
If you would like to learn more about Goodwood Cricket Club fixtures and results then please head on over to Goodwood CC or alternatively the Chichester site for further information.
This article was taken from the Summer 2019 edition of the Goodwood Magazine.
goodwood estate
goodwood news
goodwood magazine