

From 2005 to present there has been a demonstration area for the rally cars at the top of the hill


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


For icons of British saloon car racing, featuring Capris, Camaros, Mustangs and more.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.




King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.



After a fire in 1791 at Richmond House in Whitehall, London, James Wyatt added two great wings to showcase the saved collection at Goodwood. To give unity to the two new wings, Wyatt added copper-domed turrets framing each façade.











A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam






The stunning fish which adorn the walls of the main corridor are hand crafted and represent the fishing documents from Gordon Castle of 1864-1898.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill



The Fiat S76 or "Beast of Turin" is a Goodwood favourite and can usually be heard before it is seen at #FOS


Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


Over the years, the Revival has honoured legends like Jim Clark, Jack Brabham, Dan Gurney and more.


The most prestigious event in historic motorsport, the race that everyone wants to win.




Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.


Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.










Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill



Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.








Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).


The Gordon Tartan has been worn by the Dukes and Duchesses over the last 300 years.






...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?






The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.



The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


G. Stubbs (1724–1806) created some of the animal portraiture masterpieces at Goodwood House, combining anatomical exactitude with expressive details




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.




The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.




Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.



Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


The oldest existing rules for the game were drawn up for a match between the 2nd Duke and a neighbour


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).


Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.
A remarkable sporting history stemming back over 100 years.
The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House. Estate workers had laid out the course for the Duke whose teenage grandchildren were already keen golfers. Later, in 1916, the 7th Duke (pictured second from left) was elected as President of the Club and made it one of the places to be seen throughout the Edwardian era.
It was the Duke’s second son, Lord Bernard, who was most passionate about Golf At Goodwood. In 1914, he commissioned champion golfer James Braid to lay out a new course. One of the greatest golfers of all time, Braid was the first man to win The Open five times. However, it is his golf courses which are his lasting legacy to the sport.
James Braid’s course featured many of his trademarks including doglegs that he is commonly regarded to have invented, a great example of which is the 7th at Goodwood. Enchanting vistas across the Sussex landscape and intriguing vignettes of local landmarks such as the Chichester Cathedral spire and the Isle of Wight were the keynotes of the course. Notably, Goodwood is one of only a handful of courses that he built from scratch. Braid’s outstanding Downland course is still an integral part of Goodwood’s sporting heritage today.
Many of Braid’s design principles embodied in the Downs Course at Goodwood endured over the the decades. The shorter the approach shot the more heavily guarded the green is to be. The use of blind tee shots to maintain curiosity and test commitment to the shot. Bunkers that not only punish inaccurate shots, but also test your judgement of distance by being pulled forward of greens and landing zones. The dogleg and the belief that each hole should have two ways to play it, the more difficult of which offers the opportunity to pick up a shot when played correctly. (Photo: Bruce Crampton on the 1st green in a 1957 exhibition match.)
James Braid was a Scottish lad with a passion for golf but his parents disapproved of his early ambitions to become a golfer. Consequently the young Braid was sent to become an apprentice carpenter. Yet as soon as he came of age, he moved to London where he worked as a club maker before qualifying for his first Open Golf Championship at Sandwich in 1894. His success as a professional golfer was phenomenal, winning the Open no fewer than 5 times.
His career as a golfer was equalled only by his success as a course designer. Having designed hundreds of golf courses across the UK and Ireland, the Braid name is synonymous with course design principles that, since he published them in the early 20th century, have been changed little to this day.
Today, we are very proud of Braid’s involvement with Golf At Goodwood and we hope Members continue to enjoy the sport that Braid played such a huge part in introducing to Goodwood and throughout the UK.