



Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


The inaugural BARC Members' Meeting took place at Goodwood on 13th Augurst 1949.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.




Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.




Ensure you take a little time out together to pause and take in the celebration of all the hard work you put in.









Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


The oldest existing rules for the game were drawn up for a match between the 2nd Duke and a neighbour






A bell under each place at the table to signal if butlers can come back in to the dining room, a guests privacy is always paramount.


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.



From 2005 to present there has been a demonstration area for the rally cars at the top of the hill


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.


From 2005 to present there has been a demonstration area for the rally cars at the top of the hill


Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.










King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.



King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


Early Revivals saw the likes of Stirling Moss and Jack Brabham return to competitive racing.


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.




Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto




Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.




The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.



The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


David Edney, head Butler dons a morning suit "and a smile" every day and has been woking at Goodwood for over 25 years!


Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!







The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.




Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!





The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.


For the last two years, 5,800 bales have been recylced into the biomass energy centre to be used for energy generation


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.
The Sea Eagles' Nest
If you live near the coast or larger water bodies close to the coast, look up, you might be lucky enough to spot a magnificent sea eagle! World Nature Conservation Day is on the 28th July, and we are thrilled to highlight one of the exciting conservation projects happening within the Goodwood Estate.
Sustainability
Estate

Last April, the estate was fortunate to have a rare visit from a pair of sea eagles, an event that delighted the Estate Team. Spotting these birds is a unique occurrence as sea eagles are a Schedule 1 species, meaning it is illegal for them to be disturbed. Sea Eagles are the largest birds of prey in Great Britain, boasting a wingspan approximately the size of two guitars!
Unfortunately, Sea Eagles became extinct in Britain in the early 1900s. However, reintroduction projects have been ongoing since then, bringing birds over from Norway. Although initial efforts in the 1950s and 1960s were unsuccessful, later attempts in 1975 and 1985 saw success. The first hatching was recorded in 1983 on the Scottish Island of Rum. According to the RSPB, there were roughly 150 breeding pairs in 2020, showcasing a positive trend in their population recovery.

These versatile and opportunistic predators adapt their diet based on availability, which changes with the seasons. They survive mainly on fish and so tend to be found in coastal areas, often seen snatching their prey from the water's surface. However, they also feed on rabbits, hares, other birds, and carrion. In hunting prey from both land and the sea, their role in nutrient cycling between the ecosystems is unique and therefore crucial.
After the sighting on the estate, Forestry England informed us that the visiting eagles were likely searching for a breeding site.Inspired by this, we teamed up with ‘The Social Tree Climbers’ to create safe, potential nesting sites, in the hope we might be fortunate enough to see these spectacular birds again.
Using organic materials from the surrounding environment, we constructed a couple of nests in the tops of the tallest coniferous trees on the estate. From these taller trees, we thought that the ‘ready to use’ nests might be more visible to an eagle that might be looking to move in. The process began with larger branches and concluded with leaf mulch and moss to fill gaps, resulting in a nest large enough for two people to sit in comfortably.

Sustainability
Estate