The Fiat S76 or "Beast of Turin" is a Goodwood favourite and can usually be heard before it is seen at #FOS
Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style
Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill
One Summer, King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit, and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.
The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.
Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.
The Gordon Tartan has been worn by the Dukes and Duchesses over the last 300 years.
Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998
Extracts from the 4th & 5th Dukes diaries are on display with red ink used to highlight great things that had happened.
Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.
Festival of Speed is our longest-standing Motorsport event, starting in 1993 when it opened to 25,00 people. We were expecting 2000!
Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.
Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style
A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam
Legend of Goodwood's golden racing era and Le Mans winner Roy Salvadori once famously said "give me Goodwood on a summer's day and you can forget the rest".
Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.
The red & yellow of the Racecourse can be traced back hundreds of years, even captured in our stunning Stubbs paintings in the Goodwood Collection
Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill
King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.
The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.
The red & yellow of the Racecourse can be traced back hundreds of years, even captured in our stunning Stubbs paintings in the Goodwood Collection
Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill
King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.
Festival of Speed is our longest-standing Motorsport event, starting in 1993 when it opened to 25,00 people. We were expecting 2000!
The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.
One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.
Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.
According to Head Butler at Goodwood House David Edney "Class, sophistication and discretion".
The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.
One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.
One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.
One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.
Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.
The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.
The exquisite mirror in the Ballroom of Goodwood House it so big they had to raise the ceiling to get it inside!
Ensure you take a little time out together to pause and take in the celebration of all the hard work you put in will be a treasured memory.
Ensure you take a little time out together to pause and take in the celebration of all the hard work you put in will be a treasured memory.
The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.
One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.
The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.
Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!
A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam
Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.
Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!
Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.
Goodwood’s pigs are a mix of two rare breeds (Gloucester Old Spots and Saddlebacks) plus the Large White Boar.
The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.
Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.
To celebrate 300 years since the birth of the famous equine artist, George Stubbs, Goodwood welcomes Christine Riding, Director of Collections at the National Gallery, to discuss Stubbs’s extraordinary skill and fascinating career, with a Champagne and canapé reception in the State Apartments of Goodwood House at 6.30pm on Thursday 10 October 2024.
To celebrate 300 years since the birth of the famous equine artist, George Stubbs, Goodwood welcomes Christine Riding, Director of Collections at the National Gallery, to discuss Stubbs’s extraordinary skill and fascinating career, with a Champagne and canapé reception in the State Apartments of Goodwood House at 6.30pm on Thursday 10 October 2024.
Stubbs revolutionised the painting of horses and animals, launching his career at Goodwood under the patronage of the 3rd Duke of Richmond. The paintings displayed at Goodwood House and the National Gallery show his astonishing artistic development.
This event is a chance to delve into Stubbs’ life and career, discover his extraordinary talent, and get up close to the significant works by Stubbs on display at Goodwood House. It is also an opportunity to view a newly acquired oil sketch by Stubbs, which has never before been shown to the public.
It is an evening not to be missed!
About Christine Riding
Christine was appointed Director of Collections and Research at the National Gallery in February 2023, having been the Jacob Rothschild Head of the Curatorial Department and Curator of British Paintings for four years.
Before joining the National Gallery, Christine held curatorial positions, first at the Museum of London and the Palace of Westminster and then, from 1999 to 2011, at the Tate, where she co-curating numerous exhibitions including ‘Hogarth’ (2007) at Tate Britain and ‘Gauguin: Maker of Myth’ (2010) at Tate Modern. From 2011-18 she was Head of Arts and Curator of the Queen’s House at the Royal Museums Greenwich and led on the acquisition of the ‘Kangaroo’ and ‘Dingo’ by George Stubbs (2013) and the ‘Armada Portrait of Elizabeth I’ (2016). She was also the curatorial lead on the major refurbishment of the Queen’s House, Greenwich, which included commissioning the installation in the Great Hall by Turner prize winning artist Richard Wright. From 2007‐12, Christine was Deputy Editor of ‘Art History’ (Journal of the Association for Art History) and from 2014–2019, she was Chair of The Association for Art History. She is also an alumna of the Clore Leadership Programme.
At the National Gallery, she has curated the exhibitions, ‘Kehinde Wiley: Prelude’ (December 2021-April 2022), ‘Gainsborough’s Blue Boy: The Return of a British Icon’ (January-May 2022) and ‘Turner on Tour: Masterpieces from the Frick Collection’ (November 2022-February 2023) and is curating ‘Discover Constable and the Hay Wain’, which opens in October 2024. She is the directorial lead on ‘NG200: The Main Event’ project for the Gallery’s bicentenary celebrations. This will be the first complete redisplay of the National Gallery’s world-class art collection in over thirty years. She is currently working on a new Research Strategy and planning the refurbishment of the Research Centre.
Christine Riding, Director of Collections at the National Gallery