

From 2005 to present there has been a demonstration area for the rally cars at the top of the hill


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.




King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.




After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.





G. Stubbs (1724–1806) created some of the animal portraiture masterpieces at Goodwood House, combining anatomical exactitude with expressive details









Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


The most prestigious event in historic motorsport, the race that everyone wants to win.






A bell under each place at the table to signal if butlers can come back in to the dining room, a guests privacy is always paramount.


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.



Festival of Speed is our longest-standing Motorsport event, starting in 1993 when it opened to 25,00 people. We were expecting 2000!


When the 9th Duke won the Double Twelve at Brooklands in 1931 he never drove without it throughout his successful driving career.


Aubigny, Methuen, Torbolton and Darnley are the four teams that compete for the House Shield.


FOS Favourite Mad Mike Whiddett can be caught melting tyres in his incredible collection of cars (and trucks) up the hillclimb




Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill










Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill



After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


For safety reasons F1 cars can no longer do official timed runs so instead perform stunning demonstrations!


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


David Edney, head Butler dons a morning suit "and a smile" every day and has been woking at Goodwood for over 25 years!




Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.




The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.



The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.


Estate milk was once transformed into ice-creams, bombes, and syllabubs, and the Georgian ice house still stands in the grounds in front of Goodwood House.









After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.




The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.






The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.



Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).




The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).


For the last two years, 5,800 bales have been recylced into the biomass energy centre to be used for energy generation


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).


Goodwood’s pigs are a mix of two rare breeds (Gloucester Old Spots and Saddlebacks) plus the Large White Boar.


Goodwood’s pigs are a mix of two rare breeds (Gloucester Old Spots and Saddlebacks) plus the Large White Boar.
This month the greens have been improving after the maintenance. We will continue to sand dust to improve trueness and speed, until we reach our KPI standard. Then it will be routine dustings to keep the KPIs to where they need to be. The greens have taken more time than expected to recover, due to the persistent cold nights and the spring flush in growth we normally have this time of year, has yet to happen, due to the soil temperature being low. We have also had to spray a growth regulator to reduce the Poa grass seed heads on the greens, which make the greens bumpy and slow. Therefore, this has aided in the slower recovery of the greens. However, if this was not done, the greens would be in poorer conditions for the upcoming months.
The bunkers have started to be weeded, de-stoned and topped up. So far, we have done holes, 1,2,3,17 and 18. We will continue to top up the bunkers in order, where we can in the upcoming weeks to provide an improved experience when playing out of these hazards.
The estate has had a few major water pipe bursts on their pipeline, which goes across the 18th fairway and rough. These have been repaired and have now been turfed by the team. Also, we have now completed the 1st walk off project, which was created after the large tree came down in that area. A wooden edge has been added for a woodchip boarder and turf laid where the old tree stump was. These areas will be GUR for the next few weeks.
The badgers on the course have been causing some damage on the course. We try to repair these daily, however sometimes it may take a few days.
The longer rough is starting to grow, with some wild flowers coming through, which is nice to see. Please can you not drive in the long rough in buggies, or take any trollies into these areas.
The last post and rope will come in this month, which will be pleasing to see. The cores from the greens weed used in worn and undulated areas are growing in nicely and aids our sustainability policy or recycling products.
Look forward to seeing you on the course!
Rob Dyer, Head Greenkeeper, The Downs course
April certainly had its challenges. After 3.5ft of rain in six months, the rain has finally stopped! But the sun hasn’t come out and it’s got very cold. No spring flush of growth and colour this year. Recovery has also been slow, but we soldier on and still try to create an outstanding golf course.
Feedback has been really good which drives the team. Green speeds have stayed between 9ft and 10ft for the last two months and the condition of the fairways, aprons and tees have been excellent.
Despite the poor conditions The Copse is looking amazing. The putting green opening has been well received by our members who enjoyed using it before The Race to Antognolla Order of Merit event on Saturday 20 April.
As I am sure you all have seen the bluebells throughout the golf course have flourished. All our hard work through the winter months has really paid off. Seeing such a thick carpet of colour really does compliment the golf course and as part of our ongoing ecology programme, we will be creating more wild flower areas.
This month we have been hydro seeding the old 4th fairway bunkers to help give them a boost. We put seed and fertiliser into a paste which helps keep the seed damp for better germination.
Due to the saturated ground conditions, we were unable to continue with the master plan, which includes bunker construction work on the 4th and 13th but this is now back underway and we hope to push forward in the next couple of weeks.
We have a maintenance day on Wednesday 8 May in which we will be carrying out the following tasks on the greens:
As a result, we will give the greens some good aeration at various depths and the sand will help dilute the thatch layer. The aim is to put down around 150 tonnes of sand this year.
Look forward to seeing you on the course!
Simon Berry, Head Greenkeeper, The Park course
