The great Regency state apartments at Goodwood House were added to Brettingham’s south wing from 1800 by the architect James Wyatt, together with the round towers. These wings and towers are in flint, an unusual material for a house of this size, which looks wonderful in the early morning or evening light, in the hoar frost or snow. The new large rooms were intended for entertaining and are used as such to this day. They house the earlier art collection, collected through the late 17th and 18th centuries, much of which had previously adorned Richmond House, the family's London home. This town house was destroyed by fire in 1791.
Goodwood House looks like three sides of an octagon, and it used to be thought that it was intended to build the complete figure, but this has never been proved. It is not known what the intentions were when this somewhat picturesque shape was devised, but the layout certainly works perfectly for a private family home combined with grand public apartments and far reaching views over the park.
The house has recently been refurbished by the Duke and Duchess of Richmond, giving it an up to date sense of the Regency, with strong colours and stylish drapes and fabrics.