



Legend of Goodwood's golden racing era and Le Mans winner Roy Salvadori once famously said "give me Goodwood on a summer's day and you can forget the rest".




The red & yellow of the Racecourse can be traced back hundreds of years, even captured in our stunning Stubbs paintings in the Goodwood Collection




The red & yellow of the Racecourse can be traced back hundreds of years, even captured in our stunning Stubbs paintings in the Goodwood Collection




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto



The exquisite mirror in the Ballroom of Goodwood House it so big they had to raise the ceiling to get it inside!









Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.






The dining room is host to an original painting from the Goodwood collection of the 6th Duke as a child.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


Future Lab is Goodwood's innovation pavilion, inspiring industry enthusiasts and future scientists with dynamic tech


Legend of Goodwood's golden racing era and Le Mans winner Roy Salvadori once famously said "give me Goodwood on a summer's day and you can forget the rest".


Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


The bricks lining the Festival of Speed startline are 100 years old and a gift from the Indianapolis Speedway "Brickyard" in 2011 to mark their centenary event!




The bricks lining the Festival of Speed startline are 100 years old and a gift from the Indianapolis Speedway "Brickyard" in 2011 to mark their centenary event!




One Summer, King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit, and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


One Summer, King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit, and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.










The first public race meeting took place in 1802 and, through the nineteenth century, ‘Glorious Goodwood,’ as the press named it, became a highlight of the summer season


The first public race meeting took place in 1802 and, through the nineteenth century, ‘Glorious Goodwood,’ as the press named it, became a highlight of the summer season


The first public race meeting took place in 1802 and, through the nineteenth century, ‘Glorious Goodwood,’ as the press named it, became a highlight of the summer season


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.




The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.




"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.




The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.






The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.



The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


The exquisite mirror in the Ballroom of Goodwood House it so big they had to raise the ceiling to get it inside!


Ensure you take a little time out together to pause and take in the celebration of all the hard work you put in will be a treasured memory.







Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill




Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.




Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


Goodwood’s pigs are a mix of two rare breeds (Gloucester Old Spots and Saddlebacks) plus the Large White Boar.



Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.


We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.


Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.


"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.


Nothing announces the arrival of springtime more eloquently than a host of daffodils. Yet in many ways, this much-loved and familiar flower remains mysterious
Words by Helen O'Neill
Magazine

Goodwood’s daffodils are a secret blend of bulbs from Holland, comprising early-, mid- and late-flowering varieties. They are planted each year to ensure that the motor circuit is surrounded by a triumphant crop of these bright spring blooms, ready for Members’ Meeting in March. Every October, supplier Michael Lubbe visits the Estate with his sons to plant the bulbs using a special machine, which means they can place them much closer together than by hand. This spring the circuit looks particularly spectacular with 500,000 bulbs in bloom.
Daffodils are intoxicating. A celebrity power flower that annually raises millions for cancer research, the daffodil is internationally adored as spring’s cheerful herald. Yet just a few centuries ago this plant was so unpopular, hardly anyone in England would even consider bringing one into their home.
It’s the ultimate makeover: the dazzling, dancing blooms have gone from being shunned by all to entrancing poets, inspiring designers, captivating perfumers and fascinating scientists. This humble bulb now represents everything from hope, rebirth, eternal life and mystery to unrequited love.
The daffodil’s remarkable tale began over 18 million years ago in southwest Europe’s Iberian Peninsular. This plant contains toxic alkaloids, and ancient cultures grew to fear it as a semi-supernatural living link to the hereafter. One Greek myth associates daffodils with the tragic demise of the vain youth Narcissus (hence the plant’s Latin name), while another relates how these flowers lured the goddess Persephone to her Underworld doom. Roman soldiers are said to have carried daffodil bulbs as suicide pills, believing that they guaranteed wounded fighters a smooth passage to the spirit world beyond.
Even so, early healers believed that, carefully used, the daffodil possessed medicinal qualities – a fact that medical researchers continue to explore to this day, working on the theory that compounds derived from certain varieties of the plant could be used to treat cancer and Alzheimer’s disease.
The daffodil, it should be stressed, is not one flower but many. Botanists recognise 54 species plus various naturally occurring hybrids that bloom from early spring to autumn. Some can be described as nocturnal, releasing deep scents into the night air to entice pollinating moths. From these, enthusiasts have created over 30,000 different named daffodils – an impressive panoply that varies in size (from 5cm dwarfs to 50cm giants), shape (classic trumpets, twisted starbursts, flat-faced flowers, multi-headed blooms, to name a few) and colour (everything from ghostly whites through to oranges, yellows, reds, greens and even some with tinges of mauve).
Each cultivar has a name – “Lucifer”, “Intrigue”, “Hanky Panky”, “Flirt”, “Foundling”, “Sulphur’s Flame” and many more – a story, and a dedicated breeder. The tales of so-called “daffodonians” attempting to engineer the exquisite are laced with drama, occasional danger and plenty of romance.

The cult of the daffodil began in earnest in the 1800s and was largely pioneered by Scottish horticulturist Peter Barr, known to aficionados as the “Daffodil King”. Bulb prices exploded (fittingly, there’s a variety named “Fortune”) and daffodil devotees became so protective of their prize blooms, one even booby-trapped her garden with explosives to deter thieves.
By the turn of the 21st century, daffodils had become ubiquitous, and yet there’s still so much more to learn about them: indeed, science has yet to fully fathom their basic structure. The more you look into this flower, the deeper the gold.
Daffodil – Biography of a Flower by Helen O’Neill is published by HarperCollins, RRP £18.99.
This article is taken from the Goodwood magazine, Spring 2018 issue
Magazine