

Found on the lawn at FOS is the finest concours d'elegance in the world, where the most beautiful cars are presented


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style




The first public race meeting took place in 1802 and, through the nineteenth century, ‘Glorious Goodwood,’ as the press named it, became a highlight of the summer season




The first public race meeting took place in 1802 and, through the nineteenth century, ‘Glorious Goodwood,’ as the press named it, became a highlight of the summer season




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.


Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.



Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).

















Each room is named after one of the hounds documented in January 1718, including Dido, Ruby and Drummer.


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.


The bricks lining the Festival of Speed startline are 100 years old and a gift from the Indianapolis Speedway "Brickyard" in 2011 to mark their centenary event!


Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


From 2005 to present there has been a demonstration area for the rally cars at the top of the hill


Future Lab is Goodwood's innovation pavilion, inspiring industry enthusiasts and future scientists with dynamic tech


For safety reasons F1 cars can no longer do official timed runs so instead perform stunning demonstrations!




Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.


Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.










Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.




The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.


The origins of the collection lay in the possessions of Louise de Keroualle, Duchess of Portsmouth, and Duchess of Aubigny in France, to whom some of the paintings originally belonged.




The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.






Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.





...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


According to Head Butler at Goodwood House David Edney "Class, sophistication and discretion".




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.




Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!







Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!




Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.
After painting matinée idols, Olive Snell turned her focus to World War II pilots. Now these poignant watercolours can be seen at Goodwood
Goodwood Magazine
Flying
aerodrome
Magazine

Looking at Olive Constance Snell’s (1888-1962) glamorous pictures of 1920s flappers, it might seem strange that the American society painter later turned her hand to portraits of World War II pilots. From Tallulah Bankhead, an American actress known for her husky voice and outrageous personality, to English actresses such as Cathleen Nesbitt and Madeleine Carroll, she painted some of the biggest, most eccentric names in film, as well as influential society women such as the Duchess of Argyll. Many of her works appeared in The Tatler before the war.
Pilots soon became synonymous with handsome, brave young men, with their own sense of intrigue and allure, so maybe it’s not surprising that Olive came to focus on them as her subjects during the war. Her marriage to the army colonel Ebenezer JL Pike gave Olive access to military officers as well as social acquaintances, and her sketching permit from the War Artists’ Advisory Committee allowed her to paint in public throughout the war.
Two excellent examples of her work from this period were added to the Goodwood collection this summer. A pair of watercolour paintings entitled Comrades in Arms depict a selection of the pilots from 610 Squadron who were stationed at RAF Westhampnett at Goodwood in 1943.
The pilots painted include: James Edgar (Johnnie) Johnson, the top-rated Allied fighter pilot of the war in the European theatre; Sgt Karol Michalkiewicz, nicknamed Polish Charlie, one of many Polish airmen to Britain’s aid after the fall of their country and who joined the 610 Squadron on 21 November 1941 from The City of Warsaw Polish Squadron; and P/O Andrew Stewart Barrie (Stewie), who was tragically shot down and killed in June of the same year, aged just 25.
In fact, of the 18 pilots depicted in the paintings (many of whom are listed by their nicknames, including Hoppy, Feathers, South and Dai), four were killed in the months after the portraits were finished. As the personnel of both bases and squadrons changed regularly during this time, the same painting, completed just two months later, would have featured a very different group of men. These wonderfully poignant works capture an extraordinary moment in time, and join two other works by Snell at Goodwood: black-and-white sketches of the late Duke of Richmond and his brother, Lord Nicholas Gordon Lennox, and a small head-and-shoulders oil portrait of the 9th Duchess of Richmond, currently on display in the Red Hall.
This article is taken from the Goodwood magazine, Winter 2018 issue
Goodwood Magazine
Flying
aerodrome
Magazine