

From 2005 to present there has been a demonstration area for the rally cars at the top of the hill


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style




Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.




The red & yellow of the Racecourse can be traced back hundreds of years, even captured in our stunning Stubbs paintings in the Goodwood Collection




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).



Estate milk was once transformed into ice-creams, bombes, and syllabubs, and the Georgian ice house still stands in the grounds in front of Goodwood House.









Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


For the last two years, 5,800 bales have been recylced into the biomass energy centre to be used for energy generation






Many items came from Gordon castle in Scotland when it left family ownership, coming out from storage exclusively for Hound Lodge.


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.



For the last two years, 5,800 bales have been recylced into the biomass energy centre to be used for energy generation


Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


Future Lab is Goodwood's innovation pavilion, inspiring industry enthusiasts and future scientists with dynamic tech


Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


The Fiat S76 or "Beast of Turin" is a Goodwood favourite and can usually be heard before it is seen at #FOS


Legend of Goodwood's golden racing era and Le Mans winner Roy Salvadori once famously said "give me Goodwood on a summer's day and you can forget the rest".


The bricks lining the Festival of Speed startline are 100 years old and a gift from the Indianapolis Speedway "Brickyard" in 2011 to mark their centenary event!


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.












The red & yellow of the Racecourse can be traced back hundreds of years, even captured in our stunning Stubbs paintings in the Goodwood Collection



The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.




The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.




The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.





The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.


David Edney, head Butler dons a morning suit "and a smile" every day and has been woking at Goodwood for over 25 years!


Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!







Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.




As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.



The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.


Goodwood’s pigs are a mix of two rare breeds (Gloucester Old Spots and Saddlebacks) plus the Large White Boar.


A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam




The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.


"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).


Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.
Intriguing and scarce it may be, but there’s plenty of this seasonal decoration to go round at Goodwood.
Words by Gill Morgan
Christmas
Goodwood Estate
Nature

There is a magic about mistletoe. Its potent meanings date back to the ancient Greeks, whose mythological heroes used its powers to gain access to the underworld. In Norse and Scandinavian legend, mistletoe is associated with peace, while in Druidic societies, it was thought to be a protection against evil. Our own lingering love of mistletoe dates from the Middle Ages, when the appearance of its green leaves and white berries in the depths of winter linked it to fertility and vitality – hence kissing under the mistletoe. Traditionally a berry is removed for each kiss claimed.

Mistletoe's current scarcity in England only adds to its mystique. People have long been bewitched by the uncanny way it simply appears, rootless, in great tangled balls, high up in trees. This is because it’s a parasite that feeds off its host tree through the bark. Thriving particularly in fruit trees, the decline of English orchards (according to the National Trust, down by 60 per cent from the 1950s), has been a blow to our mistletoe supplies, which in turn has had a negative impact on wildlife – it provides winter sustenance for birds such as the mistle thrush and the blackcap and supports an array of rare moths and bugs. Although the fruit farms and orchards of Worcestershire, Herefordshire and Somerset still provide some of England’s mistletoe for Christmas revelries, much is now imported.
Related Reading
No such measures are required, however, at Goodwood, as head forester Darren Norris happily reports: “We have loads of it, hanging in the big lime trees near the stables. It's partly thanks to our resident group of mistle thrushes, who eat the berries and then rub the sticky seeds on to branches, which then forms new clumps. The thrushes are very territorial, so they guard the trees over the winter months in order to protect the berries for themselves.” But there is one snag: "The hard part," says Darren, "is reaching it!"
Christmas
Goodwood Estate
Nature