

Where wondrous innovation and future technology is placed in the palm of your hand.


When the 9th Duke won the Double Twelve at Brooklands in 1931 he never drove without it throughout his successful driving career.


For icons of British saloon car racing, featuring Capris, Camaros, Mustangs and more.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.




King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.



Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.









Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto






Every single item from plates to pictures has its own home within the Lodge, with our butler (James) has his own "bible" to reference exactly what is out of place.


Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.



Where wondrous innovation and future technology is placed in the palm of your hand.


Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.




Early Revivals saw the likes of Stirling Moss and Jack Brabham return to competitive racing.


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.


Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.










After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.



After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


The most prestigious event in historic motorsport, the race that everyone wants to win.


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill






Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.









...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).


Ensure you take a little time out together to pause and take in the celebration of all the hard work you put in.







Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


Flying training began at Goodwood in 1940 when pilots were taught operational flying techniques in Hurricanes and Spitfires.




As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.





The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.




The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.




Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.


A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam
Goodwood's Salvage Team recently made history by taking down one of The Collection's precious 18th century tapestries
The Collection
Goodwood House

Goodwood’s salvage team made history in September 2023 by taking down one of the precious 18th century tapestries that usually hangs in the Tapestry Drawing Room. The tapestry, which got damp due to flash flooding in the House, has only ever been taken down twice since being first installed in the 1770s.
It was first taken down during the Second World War, when it was moved to the Ice House on the Estate for safety, and more recently it was taken down again due to flooding. The damage this time was, thankfully, minimal and the tapestry will be going back up as soon as the wall it hangs on has fully dried out.
The tapestry is part of a suite of four gifted by Louis XV of France to the 3rd Duke of Richmond. The 3rd Duke spent nine months at the French court in 1765 acting as George III’s ambassador. Louis XV’s monogram appears in each top corner, and peacocks symbolise the French monarchy. The tapestries were enormously expensive, costing the King 15,483 livres and were made at the famous Gobelins factory, which was renowned for making French royal tapestries.
The Tapestry Drawing Room was commissioned by the 3rd Duke to specifically house the tapestries. The entire scheme of the room, including the ceiling, was designed to complement the tapestries which were framed in the French fashion.
Learn more and view the Tapestry Drawing Room and other State Apartment rooms at Goodwood House with a Guided Tour and Tea & Tour as part of our Open Days from March to October.
The Collection
Goodwood House

