

From 2005 to present there has been a demonstration area for the rally cars at the top of the hill


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


The early Members' Meetings were held for BARC Members, there were 71 between 1949 and 1966.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill




Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.




The origins of the collection lay in the possessions of Louise de Keroualle, Duchess of Portsmouth, and Duchess of Aubigny in France, to whom some of the paintings originally belonged.









As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.






Revel in the history of our hounds with their family trees dating back to some of our earliest documents at Goodwood.


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.



FOS Favourite Mad Mike Whiddett can be caught melting tyres in his incredible collection of cars (and trucks) up the hillclimb


Spectate from the chicane at the Revival to see plenty of classic cars going sideways as they exit this infamous point of our Motor Circuit.


The 72nd Goodwood Members' Meeting was run for GRRC Members in 2014, the first since 1966.




Over the years, the Revival has honoured legends like Jim Clark, Jack Brabham, Dan Gurney and more.


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.


The most prestigious event in historic motorsport, the race that everyone wants to win.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.










Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.



King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


Goodwood’s pigs are a mix of two rare breeds (Gloucester Old Spots and Saddlebacks) plus the Large White Boar.






Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.



Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


After a fire in 1791 at Richmond House in Whitehall, London, James Wyatt added two great wings to showcase the saved collection at Goodwood. To give unity to the two new wings, Wyatt added copper-domed turrets framing each façade.


As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere







The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.




As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto



Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).




We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.


A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam
Dogs have long been part of life at Goodwood Estate, not just as companions but as a constant presence woven into the story of the Richmond family. In honour Goodwoof, Goodwood curator, Clementine de la Poer Beresford, shares the indelible connection to the Dukes of Richmond’s and our four-legged friends.
Stories from the Collection
stories from the estate
latest news
Goodwoof
Dogs

Enter Goodwood’s most important resident: the dog. Since the 17th century, when the 1st Duke of Richmond first bought the Goodwood Estate, dogs have been part of the family. A quick glance at the paintings inside Goodwood House reveals that dogs dominate the canvases and that family members have always held their trusty hounds in high esteem.
Spaniels have long been a favourite. In a painting from the 1680s, a lively-looking spaniel drinks water at the feet of Louise de Keroualle, mother of the 1st Duke of Richmond. At the time, Spaniels were associated with Charles II, and so the inclusion was a nod to Louise’s position as the King’s mistress. Louise’s great-grandson, the 3rd Duke of Richmond, was so fond of these two liver-coloured Sussex Spaniels that he could not bear to be without them when he embarked on the Grand Tour in 1755. The pair travelled with him to Rome, where they were painted alongside their master by Pompeo Batoni. The Duke let them take centre-stage and one in particular steals the limelight, looking adoringly at the Duke and resting his paw loyally on his sleeve. It is telling that when George Stubbs came to Goodwood to capture on canvas the sporting activities on the estate in 1759/60, the Duke again chose his Sussex Spaniels to feature; they appear in two of the three scenes he produced, Shooting at Goodwood and Racehorses Exercising at Goodwood. The Duke’s fondness for dogs was well known, so much so that in 1782, his wife’s half-sister, Anne Damer, carved for him two sleeping dogs (a spaniel and a poodle) in marble. The 3rd Duke’s nephew, the 4th Duke of Richmond, also had a soft-spot for the Spaniel, naming his Blücher, after the Prussian general. Blücher even accompanied him on his tour of Upper Canada in 1819. The trip brought tragedy though, when Blücher was attacked by a pet fox; when trying to separate them, the Duke received a nasty bite from the fox, caught rabies, and died shortly afterwards.
Spaniels were by no means the only favoured breed; until the end of the 19th century, foxhounds were also a familiar sight on the estate. The 1st Duke of Richmond bought Goodwood in 1697 as a place to stay to go foxhunting with the fashionable Charlton Hunt, the oldest foxhunt in England. As Master of the Charlton Hunt, the 2nd Duke of Richmond, knew each of the hounds by their names and markings; he kept a notebook documenting their pedigrees, taking an active interest in their breeding (remarkably, this still exists in Goodwood’s library). When the hounds moved from Charlton to Goodwood under the tenure of the 3rd Duke, they were given a new state-of-the-art kennels close to Goodwood House. Costing £6,000 and designed by King George III’s architect, James Wyatt, no expense was spared. Function combined with form in the aesthetic design of The Kennels; classical ideals of symmetry, harmony and proportion ensured the building had an elegance and grandeur that at the time superseded Goodwood House. The building even had central heating – family and friends staying at Goodwood House would not enjoy the same luxury for another 100 years! When the hunt was revived in 1883, new kennels were constructed over the road in the form of Hound Lodge, now a beautifully restored ten-bedroom property, perfect for entertaining and with the old kennels still intact in the garden.
The late 19th century also saw the arrival of a new breed to Goodwood, the Pekingese. In 1860, when the Old Summer Palace in Peking was destroyed by British troops during the Second Opium War, five Pekingese dogs were discovered. One was presented to Queen Victoria and two to Frances, Duchess of Richmond, named Guh and Meh. These were the first ever Pekingese dogs in England.
Today, all sorts of breeds can be spotted on the estate. Whether enjoying a cup of coffee at The Kennels, where dogs can also have their very own membership, accompanying their humans on the golf courses, or taking a walk through the grounds; you will be hard-pressed not to see someone accompanied by their favourite canine companion. Dogs remain very much part of the Goodwood family and are no better celebrated than at Goodwoof, a dog event like no other, held this year on 16-17 May 2026 by The Kennels, right where Goodwood’s love affair with dogs began.
You can find out more about the Goodwood Collections as part of an Afternoon Tea & Tour experience at Goodwood House from March through to October.
Article taken from Woof! Edition 11.
Stories from the Collection
stories from the estate
latest news
Goodwoof
Dogs

