



Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.


Aubigny, Methuen, Torbolton and Darnley are the four teams that compete for the House Shield.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.




The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.


Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.



"En la rose je fleurie" or "Like the rose, I flourish" is part of the Richmond coat of Arms and motto









Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.






Every single item from plates to pictures has its own home within the Lodge, with our butler (James) has his own "bible" to reference exactly what is out of place.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill



The Hill Start Line is marked by bricks taken from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


From 2005 to present there has been a demonstration area for the rally cars at the top of the hill


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.




Festival of Speed is our longest-standing Motorsport event, starting in 1993 when it opened to 25,00 people. We were expecting 2000!




King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.










King Edward VII turned his back on the traditional morning suit and donned a linen suit and Panama hat. Thus the Glorious Goodwood trend was born.



King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam






...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.




The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


The first thing ever dropped at Goodwood was a cuddly elephant which landed in 1932 just as the 9th Duke of Richmonds passion for flying was taking off.





Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


According to Head Butler at Goodwood House David Edney "Class, sophistication and discretion".


Ensure you take a little time out together to pause and take in the celebration of all the hard work you put in.







Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998






Goodwood’s pigs are a mix of two rare breeds (Gloucester Old Spots and Saddlebacks) plus the Large White Boar.



The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.


Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!




We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.


Goodwood’s pigs are a mix of two rare breeds (Gloucester Old Spots and Saddlebacks) plus the Large White Boar.




Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.
The interior of Goodwood’s new restaurant celebrates the estate's unique history with a range of locally sourced artefacts, including exquisite antique pressed flowers. By Gill Morgan
magazine
estate
restaurant
fbc
Food
Lifestyle

When designer Cindy Leveson was asked to imagine the interiors of Goodwood’s new restaurant, Farmer, Butcher, Chef, she knew straight away that it was an opportunity to do something unique. “I said to Lord March, ‘Wouldn’t it be amazing if the whole thing was about Goodwood and Sussex and England and farming,’” she remembers. So the idea was born of using everyday artefacts from around the estate to decorate this bright, airy space. The result is a contemporary take on country chic: a world away from dark, cluttered rustic décor, yet layered with interest and colour and filled with humble yet beautiful objects that connect with Goodwood’s history.
These ‘herbaria’ – books of dried plants and flowers – had been made in the 18th century for the 2nd Duke, who had a keen interest in gardening

Pages from Goodwood's antique books of pressed flowers were carefully photographed and framed, and now grace the estate's restaurant as unique wall art
One especially striking feature is the use of pressed flower pictures. “Lord March mentioned that he’d recently found some albums of beautiful pressed flowers and wondered if they could be used,” recalls Leveson. These “herbaria” – books of dried plants and flowers – had been made in the 18th century for the 2nd Duke, who had a keen interest in gardening and natural history. Now kept in the Large Library of Goodwood House, they are too delicate and precious to be moved, so an ingenious solution was found.
Wouldn’t it be amazing if the whole thing was about Goodwood and Sussex and England and farming
Leveson selected two sets from the original 48 pages of flowers. The pages – which over time had become crinkled with the moisture from the plants – were then meticulously photographed in such fine detail that every petal vein and paper crease was revealed, then printed onto very fine, old paper. The printed images were then “floated” in white box frames to give a cool contemporary feel. Such is the level of detail and the patina of aged paper, many visitors don’t realise that the flower pictures are not the originals.
The pressed flowers are just one example of Leveson’s enthusiastic mining of historic detail in this lovely upcycled interior. She talks with infectious enthusiasm about trips down to “R & M” – Goodwood’s repair and maintenance yard – to uncover buried treasures (“found objects” in art-speak) that she could repurpose, from farm tools to broken pieces of plaster to be displayed in cabinets. Particular pride of place is given to an 18th century fire hose, which Leveson shipped off to the blacksmith in nearby Halnaker. He polished the copper and brass fittings, oiled the leather hose and it now hangs, like a conceptual piece of art, on one wall of the restaurant.
This article is taken from the Goodwood magazine, Autumn 2017 issue
magazine
estate
restaurant
fbc
Food
Lifestyle