

Festival of Speed is our longest-standing Motorsport event, starting in 1993 when it opened to 25,00 people. We were expecting 2000!


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


For icons of British saloon car racing, featuring Capris, Camaros, Mustangs and more.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill




After the first public race meeting in 1902, 'Glorious Goodwood' became a highlight of the summer season.




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.




The Duke of Richmond holds the title of Duke of Richmond and Gordon. This title reflects the historical association with both the Richmond and Gordon families.











Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.






Every single item from plates to pictures has its own home within the Lodge, with our butler (James) has his own "bible" to reference exactly what is out of place.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill



The Hill Start Line is marked by bricks taken from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.


Aubigny, Methuen, Torbolton and Darnley are the four teams that compete for the House Shield.


FOS Favourite Mad Mike Whiddett can be caught melting tyres in his incredible collection of cars (and trucks) up the hillclimb




For the last two years, 5,800 bales have been recylced into the biomass energy centre to be used for energy generation


Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.










King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.



King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.


The oldest existing rules for the game were drawn up for a match between the 2nd Duke and a neighbour


After a fire in 1791 at Richmond House in Whitehall, London, James Wyatt added two great wings to showcase the saved collection at Goodwood. To give unity to the two new wings, Wyatt added copper-domed turrets framing each façade.




The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?




The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.




One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.





Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.


A temple-folly guarded by two sphinxes, the beautiful shell house was built in 1748 with collected shells and the floor made from horse teeth.


Ensure you take a little time out together to pause and take in the celebration of all the hard work you put in.







The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.




Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998




As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.



The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.


Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


Testament to the 19th-century fascination with ancient Egypt and decorative opulence. The room is richly detailed with gilded cartouches, sphinxes, birds and crocodiles.


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill
Step inside Goodwood House and discover the 3rd Duke of Richmond’s extraordinary Sèvres porcelain collection. Bold in colour and pioneering in design, these pieces feature the very first serious ornithological painting on china, inspired by the exotic birds of the Goodwood Library.
Learn more about this beautiful collection from Clementine de la Poer Beresford, Curator at Goodwood House.

The Director of the Wallace Collection, Rosalind Savill, has described the 3rd Duke of Richmond as ‘England’s greatest patron of Sèvres porcelain’. Unlike most English collectors, the Duke actually bought the porcelain while it was fresh and new onto the market, rather than at the Revolution or in the 19th century. In 1765/6 he was for a short time Ambassador to Paris. On 12th November 1765 he travelled with his Duchess and Horace Walpole to Sèvres, and it was noted by a contemporary that they ordered a service. Most of the large collection of Sèvres at Goodwood, which is stamped 1765 and 1766, comprises a blue and green dinner service. This was extremely rare, as clients would normally order one colour. It is a testimony to the 3rd Duke’s taste and originality that he wished to see the two colours together on the table. He also ordered a green tea and coffee service from which this beaker and saucer are taken.

The Sevres Collection at Goodwood House
Image credit: Clive BoursnellThe Duke and Duchess must have taken with them or sent to the factory his father’s bird books from the Goodwood Library. The exotic and colourful birds on the Duke of Richmond’s dinner and dessert services are copied from these watercolours and prints first published by George Edwards in 1743. The French edition of these dating from 1745 and 1748, is dedicated to the 2nd Duke and Duchess of Richmond and is also in the Library. Prior to these services, any birds painted on china had been imaginary and ideal. This is the first example of serious ornithological painting on china.

Goodwood Sevres Collection
Image credit: Clive BoursnellToday, the collection is on display at Goodwood House as part of the Goodwood House Tea & Tour, running from March through October, offering visitors a chance to appreciate the 3rd Duke’s remarkable vision and the artistry of early Sèvres porcelain.

