

Nick Heidfelds 1999 (41.6s) hillclimb record was beaten after Max Chilton in his McMurtry Spéirling fan car tore it to shreds at 39.08s in 2022!


Sir Stirling Moss was one of the founding patrons of the Festival of Speed, and a regular competitor at the Revival.




Leading women of business, sport, fashion and media, take part in one of the most exciting horseracing events in the world.




King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.




...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.


Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.



Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).









As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


We have been host to many incredible film crews using Goodwood as a backdrop for shows like Downton Abbey, Hollywood Blockbusters like Venom: let there be Carnage and the Man from U.N.C.L.E.






Dido is traditionally for the host, but every single room is designed with personal touches from Cindy Leveson and the Duke & Duchess of Richmond.


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.


Found on the lawn at FOS is the finest concours d'elegance in the world, where the most beautiful cars are presented


Legend of Goodwood's golden racing era and Le Mans winner Roy Salvadori once famously said "give me Goodwood on a summer's day and you can forget the rest".


The Fiat S76 or "Beast of Turin" is a Goodwood favourite and can usually be heard before it is seen at #FOS


The Fiat S76 or "Beast of Turin" is a Goodwood favourite and can usually be heard before it is seen at #FOS


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.


From 2005 to present there has been a demonstration area for the rally cars at the top of the hill


The bricks lining the Festival of Speed startline are 100 years old and a gift from the Indianapolis Speedway "Brickyard" in 2011 to mark their centenary event!


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.


King Edward VII (who came almost every year) famously dubbed Glorious Goodwood “a garden party with racing tacked on”.













The first public race meeting took place in 1802 and, through the nineteenth century, ‘Glorious Goodwood,’ as the press named it, became a highlight of the summer season


Whoa Simon! A horse so determined and headstrong, he not only won the 1883 Goodwood Cup by 20 lengths, but couldn't be stopped and carried on running over the top of Trundle hill


The first ever horsebox was used from Goodwood to Doncaster for the 1836 St. Leger. Elis arrived fresh and easily won his owner a £12k bet.


Our replica of the famous motor show showcases the "cars of the future" in true Revival style


The iconic spitfire covered almost 43,000 kilometres and visited over 20 countries on its epic journey and currently resides at our Aerodrome.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


The exquisite mirror in the Ballroom of Goodwood House it so big they had to raise the ceiling to get it inside!




Goodwood Motor Circuit was officially opened in September 1948 when Freddie March, the 9th Duke and renowned amateur racer, tore around the track in a Bristol 400


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


The first ever round of golf played at Goodwood was in 1914 when the 6th Duke of Richmond opened the course on the Downs above Goodwood House.




One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


Ray Hanna famously flew straight down Goodwood’s pit straight below the height of the grandstands at the first Revival in 1998


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.





...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?



...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?


Just beyond Goodwood House along the Hillclimb, the 2nd Dukes banqueting house was also known as "one of the finest rooms in England" (George Vertue 1747).


Built in 1787 by celebrated architect James Wyatt to house the third Duke of Richmond’s prized fox hounds, The Kennels was known as one of the most luxurious dog houses in the world!


...plan strategy in an ancient woodland, enjoy award-winning dining then drive around a racetrack?






One of the greatest golfers of all time, James Braid designed Goodwood’s iconic Downland course, opened in 1914.


The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.




As the private clubhouse for all of the Estate’s sporting and social members, it offers personal service and a relaxed atmosphere


Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.



The Motor Circuit was known as RAF Westhampnett, active from 1940 to 1946 as a Battle of Britain station.


A 20m woodland rue, from Halnaker to Lavant, was planted by our forestry teams & volunteers, featuring native species like oak, beech, & hornbeam


The famous fighter ace, who flew his last sortie from Goodwood Aerodrome, formerly RAF Westhampnett has a statue in his honor within the airfield.


Our gin uses wild-grown botanicals sourced from the estate, and is distilled with mineral water naturally chalk-filtered through the South Downs.


Easy boy! The charismatic Farnham Flyer loved to celebrate every win with a pint of beer. His Boxer dog, Grogger, did too and had a tendancy to steal sips straight from the glass.






Inspired by the legendary racer, Masten Gregory, who famously leapt from the cockpit of his car before impact when approaching Woodcote Corner in 1959.

During the five years of operational squadrons based at RAF Westhampnett, now Goodwood Aerodrome, many aces, high-ranking officers, war artists, members of parliament and even royalty were to visit; the list is a who's who of World War II. "Johnnie" Johnson, one of Douglas Bader's section operating at RAF Westhampnett in the summer of 1941, went on to be the RAF top scoring ace of the war and eclipses all others.
“Johnnie” Johnson not only flew 700 Spitfire combat sorties during WWII but he went on to score 38 confirmed victories, some of which were claimed whilst flying from RAF Westhampnett. He also was awarded a staggering three Distinguished Service Orders (one award below Victoria Cross), two distinguished flying crosses plus other awards from other allied countries.
His first ‘innings’ at the airfield as a pilot officer started when he was with the 616 Squadron at RAF Westhampnett in May 1941, flying as part of the ‘Dogsbody’ section. On the 26 June, he was to score his first success against a Bf 109 and his score started to build rapidly, destroying two more aircraft on the 6 and 14 July 1941. His success as a fighter pilot was now legendary. He was on the operation that Douglas Bader was shot down on the 9 August 1941. Post the loss of Bader; he famously had painted a slogan on the cowling of his Spitfire after stating “Bader Bus Co Still Running”. By September of 1941, he had claimed his fifth and sixth confirmed victories.
He was posted as squadron commander to 610 (County of Chester) Squadron in 1942. The squadron was to return to RAF Westhampnett after its first tenancy in 1941. Arriving in January of 1943 and staying until April of that year. “Johnnie” Johnson claimed his eighth and ninth victories at this time whilst leading his pilots from the airfield.
His success continued as did his luck and he was promoted to Wing Commander to lead the Kenley Wing. He subsequently led a Canadian Wing of Spitfires in 1944, tasked with keeping the skies clear of enemy aircraft over the eastern flank of the D-Day invasion fleet. The replica Mark IX Spitfire owned and based at Goodwood pays tribute to Johnson and is painted just as his aircraft was on the 6 June 1944, coded JE-J.
Johnson was a truly formidable fighter pilot. He did not stop at the end of hostilities and went on to serve in the Korean War, remaining in the RAF gaining the rank of Air Vice Marshall. His book ‘Wing Leader’ is an inspiring read, and mentions his time at RAF Westhampnett both as a squadron pilot and leader. He was one of our most famous pilots and sadly passed away in 2001 aged 85.
Goodwood Aerodrome
Historical Flights
WWII
raf westhampnett